American Sign Language

The Resource Center provides free ASL classes which are held on the campus of MSD. Classes are open to any Missouri resident, but families of deaf or hard of hearing children and teachers with deaf or hard of hearing students receive first priority. Professionals serving or desiring to serve deaf clients receive second priority. Others are welcome to attend as space permits.

ASL Classes at MSD

MSD is proud to offer basic level free sign classes to the community. Classes are held on the MSD campus and are taught by an experienced Deaf instructor. All ASL classes are limited to 12 seats. You must register to be enrolled in these FREE classes. Contact Susan Wilson at (573) 592-2543 or by email to Susan Wilson to register for a particular date and time slot.

Session I

Session I Class Dates (Evening) - FULL CAPACITY Session I Class Dates (Saturday) -  FULL CAPACITY

Tuesday, August 22, 2017 at 5:30 p.m. – 7:30 p.m.

Saturday, August 26, 2017 at 1:30 p.m. – 3:30 p.m.

Tuesday, August 29, 2017 at 5:30 p.m. – 7:30 p.m.

Saturday, September 2, 2017 at 1:30 p.m. – 3:30 p.m.

Tuesday, September 5, 2017 at 5:30 p.m. – 7:30 p.m.

Saturday, September 9, 2017 at 1:30 p.m. – 3:30 p.m.

Monday, September 11, 2017 at 5:30 p.m. – 7:30 p.m.

Saturday, September 16, 2017 at 1:30 p.m. – 3:30 p.m.

Monday, September 18, 2017 at 5:30 p.m. – 7:30 p.m.

Saturday, September 23, 2017 at 1:30 p.m. – 3:30 p.m.

Monday, September 25, 2017 at 5:30 p.m. – 7:30 p.m.

Saturday, September 30, 2017 at 1:30 p.m. – 3:30 p.m.

Session II

Session II Class Dates  (Evening) - ONLY 3 SPOT LEFT Session II Class Dates (Saturday)  -  FULL CAPACITY

Tuesday, October 10, 2017 at 5:30 p.m. – 7:30 p.m.

Saturday, October 14, 2017 at 1:30 p.m. – 3:30 p.m.

Tuesday, October 17, 2017 at 5:30 p.m. – 7:30 p.m.

Saturday, October 21, 2017 at 1:30 p.m. – 3:30 p.m.

Tuesday, October 24, 2017 at 5:30 p.m. – 7:30 p.m.

Saturday, October 28, 2017 at 1:30 p.m. – 3:30 p.m.

Tuesday, October 31, 2017 at 5:30 p.m. – 7:30 p.m.

Saturday, November 4, 2017 at 1:30 p.m. – 3:30 p.m.

Tuesday, November 7, 2017 at 5:30 p.m. – 7:30 p.m.

Saturday, November 11, 2017 at 1:30 p.m. – 3:30 p.m.

Tuesday, November 14, 2017 at 5:30 p.m. – 7:30 p.m.

Saturday, November 18, 2017 at 1:30 p.m. – 3:30 p.m.

Session III

Session III Class Dates  (Evening)   -  FULL CAPACITY Session III Class Dates  (Saturday)  -  FULL CAPACITY​

Tuesday, February 6, 2018 at 5:30 p.m. – 7:30 p.m.

Saturday, February 10, 2018 at 1:30 p.m. – 3:30 p.m.

Tuesday, February 13, 2018 at 5:30 p.m. – 7:30 p.m.

Saturday, February 17, 2018 at 1:30 p.m. – 3:30 p.m.

Tuesday, February 20, 2018 at 5:30 p.m. – 7:30 p.m.

Saturday, February 24, 2018 at 1:30 p.m. – 3:30 p.m.

Tuesday, February 27, 2018 at 5:30 p.m. – 7:30 p.m.

Saturday, March 3, 2018 at 1:30 p.m. – 3:30 p.m.

Tuesday, March 6, 2018 at 5:30 p.m. – 7:30 p.m.

Saturday, March 10, 2018 at 1:30 p.m. – 3:30 p.m.

Tuesday, March 13, 2018 at 5:30 p.m. – 7:30 p.m.

Saturday, March 17, 2018 at 1:30 p.m. – 3:30 p.m.

Online ASL Course

If you are interested in learning sign language, the Resource Center staff strongly encourage you to take a class in person because there is no substitute for live instruction from a native signer. However, we recognize that not everyone can attend classes. The Described and Captioned Media Program offers a free videocourse online or by DVD.

ASL Resources